## Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee December 6, 2021 Agenda

## **Zoom Information**

https://www.zoomgov.com/j/1608255878?pwd=MHl0eXd4blJjczE1Sm0wanM5Z3JZdz09

Passcode: 009465

**Or Telephone:** 833 568 8864 (Toll Free) Webinar ID: 160 825 5878 Passcode: 009465

International numbers available: <a href="https://www.zoomgov.com/u/abnSlgXDQ8">https://www.zoomgov.com/u/abnSlgXDQ8</a>

	Monday, December 6, 2021	
11:00am – 11:15am	Introduction	Marc Kastner, MIT (retired) BESAC Chair
11:15am – 11:45am	Office of Science Update	Steve Binkley, Acting Director Office of Science
11:45am – 12:15pm	Office of Basic Energy Sciences Update	Linda Horton, Associate Director Bruce Garrett, CSGB Division Director Andrew Schwartz, MSE Acting Division Director
12:15pm – 12:45pm	30-minute Break	
12:45pm – 1:15pm	Office of Science Distinguished Scientist Fellow Presentation	Jose Rodriguez Brookhaven National Laboratory
1:15pm – 1:45pm	SC QIS Centers	Irfan Siddiqi Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
1:45pm – 2:05pm	Roundtable on Foundational Science for Carbon- Neutral Hydrogen Technologies	Karren More Oak Ridge National Laboratory
2:05pm – 2:30pm	25-minute Break	
2:30pm – 3:30pm	Panel Discussion: Science and Energy Technology Teams	Moderator: John Vetrano, BES Hydrogen: Sunita Satyapal, EERE Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies Energy Storage: Eric Hsieh, OE Grid Systems and Components Carbon Dioxide Removal: Emily Grubert, FECM Deputy Assistant Secretary
3:30pm – 4:30pm	Facility Updates:  Linac Coherent Light Source  Neutron Scattering (Spallation Neutron Source/High Flux Isotope Reactor)  Nanoscale Science Research Centers	Mike Dunne, SLAC Ken Andersen, ORNL Jeff Nelson, SNL
4:30pm – 4:50pm	Pre-Committee of Visitors Overview: SC Workforce Development for Teachers and Scientists (WDTS)	Ping Ge, WDTS
4:50pm – 5:00pm	Public Comment Session	
5:00pm	Adjourn	