

DOE/NSF Nuclear Science Advisory Committee Meeting



Agenda

Hilton Washington DC/Rockville Hotel & Executive Meeting Center Rockville, Maryland Roosevelt/Madison Conference Room

(Eastern Time)	Thursday, September 12, 2024	
9:00 am – 9:15 am	Welcome and NSAC Introduction	Gail Dodge, NSAC Chair Old Dominion University
9:15 am – 9:45 am	Perspectives from the Department of Energy	Harriet Kung Acting Director, Office of Science Department of Energy
9:45 am – 10:15 am	Perspectives from the National Science Foundation	Denise Caldwell Acting Assistant Director of the Directorate for Mathematical & Physical Sciences National Science Foundation
10:15 am – 10:30 am	Break	
10:30 am – 11:15 am	DOE Office of Nuclear Physics Overview	Linda Horton, Acting Associate Director Sharon Stephenson, Division Director Paul Mantica, Division Director Office of Nuclear Physics Department of Energy
11:15 am – 11:45 am	NSF Nuclear Physics Overview	Senta (Vicki) Greene, Program Director Nuclear Physics National Science Foundation
11:45 am – 12:00 pm	Public Comment	
12:00 pm – 1:30 pm	Lunch (on your own)	
1:30 pm – 2:00 pm	Results from FRIB	Alexandra Gade Scientific Director Facility for Rare Isotope Beams
2:00 pm – 2:40 pm	EIC: Communicating the Science	Maria Żurek, Assistant Physicist, ANL Richard Milner, Professor of Physics, MIT Rolf Ent, EIC Co-Associate Director, JLab
2:40 pm – 3:10 pm	NSAC Discussion	
3:10 pm – 3:30 pm	Break	
3:30 pm – 4:00 pm	Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay: Communicating the Science	Vincenzo Cirigliano, Professor University of Washington
4:00 pm – 4:15 pm	NSAC Discussion	
4:15 pm – 4:45 pm	Facilities and Project Management Division COV – Presentation of Charge	Paul Mantica, Director, Facilities & Project Management Division Office of Nuclear Physics
4:45 pm – 5:00 pm	Public Comment	
5:00 pm	Adjourn	